Saturday, December 27, 2008

Cold September - Looking Up At Them At Me LP

It's not September but it's damn cold over here in Belgium for the moment.
Cold September was a new wave/deathrock band from Hollywood, CA. I didn't find any info but drummer Walt Phelan also played in punkband RF7.
There seem to be some bands this day with the same name but have nothing to do with this band.
The album was released on Azra Records, mostly known for releasing metal stuff, although the 12" of punkband Funeral was also released on this label.

Looking Up At Them At Me LP (Azra Records-A-2086-1986)
1. Seven Strangers
2. Veil Of Guise
3. The Truth
4. You Drive Me
5. Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte
6. The Useless Ones
7. You're Too Much
8. The Meaning Of Life
9. Wake Up Eva
10. Looking Up At Them At Me

Cold September

Saturday, December 20, 2008

Short-Term Memory - Effect Of Excess LP

Synth wave band out of Kansas. Can't find any info.
Prior to this album, the band released 2 cassette albums: 'Every Head Needs Cleansing' and 'Lost In Gundam'. After the LP came the 'Guilty Pleasure' EP released in 1985.
All their output was released on their own Silly Poodle Music label with the help of local Kansas label Fresh Sounds Inc. (Mortal Micronotz, The Embarrasment,...).
They appear on a few compilations as well like 'The History Of Jazz' tape, 'On-Slaught No. 4' tape and 'SNX' 4xLP.
Found a MySpace page for ex-member Jim Skeel who is still busy making music.

Effect Of Excess LP (Silly Poodle Music/Fresh Sounds Inc.-FS 209-1984)
1. I Don't Care
2. Hungry Dogs (Run Fast)
3. I Think I'm Losing My Mind
4. Take Your Place
5. Out East
6. Banzai!
7. Effect Of Excess
8. Freedom
9. Page 64
10. Lullabye (Happy Industry IV)

Effect Of Excess

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Two - 2 X 2 12"

Two were formed in 1981 and were from West Drayton, a small town near London. They were a male/female duo although a third member played sax on this one.
Their first release is the 'Trace Of Red/Regime' 7" on Future Records. Then came the 'Waiting For Winter' 12" and the 'Dreaming Spires' LP, also on Future Records.
The '2 X 2' 12" is the band's last release, and this one was issued on Reflex Records (And Also The Trees label).
This 12" sounds more experimental than the more synthpop oriented 7". It's mostly an instrumental affair.
Never heard the other 12" and LP. All their records are quite hard to find nowadays.
Capa Nostra Syndicate posted the 7".
Tracks 1 & 2 ripped as one track. Track 4 has a news clip in Dutch dealing with a terrorist attack.

2 X 2 12" (Reflex Records-12 RE 7-1984)
1. Autumn Calling
2. Walechsa
3. Castles In Syria
4. Linen

2 X 2

Saturday, December 06, 2008

V/A Well Up... And Bubble LP

Thought that this album isn't that hard to find but I was quite wrong about this. Took awhile before I found a copy for sale.
This compilation is the 2nd release on small label Bigger Bank Balance. The 1st release is the 'Gay Boys On The Battlefield' 12" of Eton Crop.
Eton Crop also appears on this album. They were also responsible for this release as well. Most of the songs weren't released elsewhere back then, or are different recordings.
All tracks were recorded at Nickelodeon Studios in Amsterdam except for those of The Three Johns. Their first song is recorded live at Leeds University in 1984 and '666 Pack To Go is actually written by Carlton B. Morgan.
Claw Boys Claw offer their very early songs here. They became quite popular in the second half of the 80's over here with there wild garage sound.
Blue Murder is another Amsterdam band. They have a strong 60's sound. They were ex-Soviet Sex. Released quite a few albums, first on their own, later for WEA and Emergo. The band split in 1987.

V/A Well Up... And Bubble LP (Bigger Bank Balance-Balance 2-1985)
1. Claw Boys Claw - Pain
2. The Mekons - Flitcraft
3. The Three Johns - World Of The Workers (Live)
4. Blue Murder - Explanation
5. Eton Crop - Boy Meets Tractor
6. Blue Murder - The Castle Song
7. Eton Crop - Coca Colanization
8. The Nightingales - Surplus And Scarcity
9. Claw Boys Claw - Ha! Ha! Ha!
10. The Three Johns - 666 Pack To Go
11. The Mekons - Darkness

Well Up And Bubble