Sunday, August 31, 2014

The Glass Set

The Glass Set is an indie / shoegaze band with an 80's postpunk influence from Boston, MA.
Their third album "First Image" is to be released early september. Previous albums are "The Glass Set" and "Something Unknown".
The Glass Set is Joel Cohen (guitar), Allen Esser (drums) and Lea Callahan (vocals). Leah also sang for Betwixt and Turkish Delight.

You can stream / download The Glass Set on their bandcamp page:

The Glass Set

Wednesday, June 18, 2014

Privacy//Policy - This Is Our Mandate

First album of Privacy//Policy, a young band from Cleveland, Ohio. The three guys got together about a year ago.
Main influences are Joy Division and The Jesus And Mary Chain.
Their 9 track album can be streamed/downloaded from their Bandcamp page.
I also found a page with a band interview on On The Beat.
Really cool sound and support DIY!

Sunday, May 25, 2014

It's Raining - Awaken At Twilight LP

Third and final release of It's Raining, a moody indie rock band from Detroit.
Matthew Smith seems to be the main man behind It's Raining as he wrote most of the songs, did the production, and was the only constant member of the band.
11 tracks with lots of variety. 'If I Drift' is a short and moody instrumental.
Special guest is Keir McDonald of Viv Akauldren playing keyboards.
The album comes with a poster, a postcard and a leaflet with info on the band. The latter is scanned and included in the file.
It's Raining took their influences (and looks) from the moody guitar wave bands from the UK.

I also ripped the 'Radioland' 12" and 'The Party She Cried' 7" again as HQ MP3's and FLAC. Should be the complete discograpy. (original post here)

Awaken At Twilight LP (Certain Records-CER 1003-1987)
1. Days That Don't Begin
2. Another True Door
3. Moments Like These
4. If I Drift
5. Winter
6. Repeat
7. Christine Is Not Herself Today
8. Upstairs
9. Again
10. In Empty Harbors
11. Awaken At Twilight

Awaken At Twilight (320)

Awaken At Twilight (FLAC)

It's Raining 12"+7" (320)

It's Raining 12"+7" (FLAC)

Sunday, March 23, 2014

V/A Painting The Fence Red LP

 Late 80's comp. album on Idealogical Sound Records, the label of Easter & The Totem.
four bands on this one. The record starts with Best Foot Forward!. Bass, drums, sax and vocals give us poppy, funky stuff. The least interesting band on this one.
Next is Easter & The Totem themselves. Their records are very hard to find but they released a discography album 'Agit Pop 1981-2011' which you can buy/download on CD Baby. The tracks on this comp. are included as well.
On side B  we have Keeping Up With The Reagans, an indie band I know nothing about. 'Brixton Riots' is the standout track.
Last is Cultural Thugs AKA Nigel Laybourne. Only a few tracks on a handful of compilations were released by Cultural Thugs. If you dig the electro bands on labels like Rouska or Concrete Productions, you need to hear this. Nigel is a wellknown producer of UK hiphop acts like Blade, The Herbalizer and London Posse.
This album should come with an insert with info on the bands but my copy hasn't one.

Painting The Fence Red LP (Idealogical Sound Records-TOTEM 2-198?)
1. Best Foot Forward! - With Or Without You
2. Best Foot Forward! - How Can I Let You Know?
3. Best Foot Forward! - Sexual Thing
4. Best Foot Forward! - Crying Out
5. Easter & The Totem - The Tyranny Of Reason
6. Easter & The Totem - Greater Than Ourselves
7. Easter & The Totem - Duplicity
8. Keeping Up With The Reagans - Just Thought Of You
9. Keeping Up With The Reagans - Brixton Riots
10. Keeping Up With The Reagans - Rainy Season
11. Cultural Thugs - Force

Painting The Fence Red (320)

Painting The Fence Red - Side A (FLAC)

Painting The Fence Red - Side B (FLAC)

Sunday, March 09, 2014

Distorshaus - Plastic Angel EP

This record falls out of the timeframe I usual post music of but it's quite rare and quite good as well.
Could find some info on Distorshaus on the net. Seems the band was active from 1994 to 1997. The band, minus the female vocalist Helen would later form punkmetalgoth band 9xDead. Guitarplayer Adam was in punkband This System Kills in the 2000's.
Distorshaus were from Newport, Wales and the 'Plastic Angel' 12" was released in 1994 (according to discogs).

Plastic Angel EP (Mystic Records-MRD99401-1994)
1. Plastic Angel
2. Tender Pain
3. Nothing
4. Haunted

Distorshaus (320)

Distorshaus (FLAC)

Sunday, March 02, 2014

Geschlecht Akt - Foreplay 12"

UK postpunk band Geschlecht Akt only released this 12" on cult label Criminal Damage. Nothing spectacular but if you dig other bands on Criminal Damage, it's worth hearing.
I have no info on the band but I think the drummer went to play for The Men They Couldn't Hang.
The name of the band is German for intercourse and looking at the title of the record and the song titles I suppose the lyrics have an erotic twist.

Foreplay 12" (Criminal Damage Records-CRI 12-119-1984)
1. Miss Fortune
2. Libido Twist
3. Temptress

Geschlecht Akt (320)

Geschlecht Akt (FLAC)

Sunday, February 16, 2014

V/A The October Country LP

Great comp. album on Nate Starkman & Son of US indie/underground artists.
Dark Arts is actually Stephanie Payne. Her first release 'A Long Way To Brigadoon' has been posted here before. Two albums followed in the 90's, the 'Carnival Of Lost Souls' and 'Something Once Whispered To Cava'.
Marnie was a member of Party Boys but later went solo. Her first album 'You Hurt Me' is well worth tracking down despite being hard-to-find these days. Two more albums followed in the 90's which I never heard before. In 2004 a kind of best of comp. was released containing the songs of The October Country.
Autumnfair was a dark postpunk band from ther late 80's. A 10" was released in 1990. In 2002 Mobilization released a discography CD although 'Naomi' is not on it.
The Soul Brothers can also be found on the 'Viva Los Angeles II' comp. They released a few cassette-only albums.

V/A The October Country LP (Nate Starkman & Son-We Buy 6-1988)
1. Dark Arts - Egeria
2. Marnie - The Courtesan
3. Marnie - Shanghai My Heart
4. Autumnfair - Naomi
5. Dark Arts - These Are Made Of Love
6. Soul Brothers - Tuesday Morning
7. Soul Brothers - I Buried Paul
8. Autumnfair - Black Spring

The October Country (320)

The October Country - Side A (FLAC)

The October Country - Side B (FLAC)

Sunday, February 09, 2014

Rhythm And Faith - Time To Run 12"

Sole release of Rhythm And Faith, issued on Future Records in 1983.
Rhythm And Faith's origins lie in Italy as two members of postpunk band Style Syndrome moved to the UK to form a new band. Both Anna and Stefano felt that Style Syndrome was getting nowhere in their homeland so they decided to move to the UK to get more recognition. Not that this helped a lot as I don't think Rhythm And Faith lasted for a long time. To be honest, I don't think that the UK was waiting for another Siouxsie & The Banshees as the songs of Rhythm And Faith remind me a lot of them.
On this 12" they had the help of  Rab, drummer of punk band The Wall.
Style Syndrome never officially released anything back in the day (except contributing a track to the 'Gathered' comp.), but there's an album of  remastered demo tape recordings  released in 2012 on Synthetic Shadows (vinyl) and Infrastition (CD).

Time To Run 12" (Future Records-12 FS 8-1983)
1. Time To Run
2. Young Too Young Girl
3. When The Wind Blows Love Will Die
4. Illusions

Rhythm And Faith (320)

Rhythm And Faith (FLAC)